Chamber Music

Current program:

Juxtaposing old and new, traversing many continents, centuries, and genres, the New River Ensemble presents an engaging program of original and traditional music. Our current program begins by contrasting a movement of Beethoven with an original work written for the ensemble by Brendan Cooney as well as pieces by contemporary jazz composer David Baker, the adventurous writer Alberto Ginastera, and the French composer Vincent d’Indy. The second half features the world premiere of the trio’s own ambitious deconstruction and rearrangement of Debussy’s famous piano collection Children’s Corner set alongside compositions by Bach and Brahms and an original movement by Martha Hyde.

Trio for Clarinet, Cello and Piano Op. 11                       Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
I. Allegro con brio

Sonata for Clarinet and Piano                                       David Baker    (b. 1931)
III. Dance

None of Me                                                                  Brendan Cooney (b. 1978)

Pampeana No. 2 Rhapsody for Cello and Piano           Alberto Ginastera (1916-1983)

Trio for Clarinet, Cello and Piano Op. 29                       Vincent d’Indy (1851-1931)
I. Ouverture

** Intermission **

Trio for Clarinet, Cello and Piano Op. 114                    Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
III. Andantino grazioso

Inventions No. 7 and 8                                          Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
arranged by Lisa Liske-Doorandish

Golliwog’s Cakewalk                                             Claude Debussy   (1862-1918)
arranged by Brendan Cooney and Martha Hyde
I.The Little Shepherd
II. Jimbo’s Lullaby
III. Doctor Gradus ad Parnussum
IV. From Children’s Corner

Trio in American Dance            Martha Hyde (b. 1958)
III. Jig